skip to Main Content

Une influence omniprésente

La Bible a été la plus importante source d’inspiration dans le développement de l’art occidental, jusqu’aux temps modernes (comme nous en avons discuté la semaine dernière lors de notre série Bible pour les nuls dans l’Upper Room d’Amsterdam). Le manque de connaissance des personnages, des thèmes…

En savoir plus

Viktor le champion?

Pour les chrétiens élevés dans des traditions d’église qui, comme moi, ont rarement, voire jamais, ‘fait de la politique’, l’émergence récente de politiciens prétendant défendre le Christianisme, peut être très déroutante. Avec peu d’instruments de discernement dans notre boîte à…

En savoir plus

Un divorce compliqué

Les larmes ont coulé lors de l’émouvante séparation des membres pro-Union européenne de la délégation britannique au Parlement européen,ce mercredi. Pendant que Nigel Farage menait son parti anti-Union européenne dans un adieu provocateur, en agitant le Union Jack, une interprétation spontanée d’Auld…

En savoir plus

Un hymne inspiré

La phase à élimination de la Ligue des Champions de l’UEFA, entre les seize dernières équipes, ne reprendront pas avant trois semaines. Et pourtant, de forts accents de chorale de l’hymne familier à tout fan de football ont résonné,la semaine dernière,dans le salon Upper…

En savoir plus
Back To Top

skip to Main Content

Passion With Pathos

This year’s performances of Johan Sebastian Bach’s St Matthew’s Passion by choirs and orchestras across Europe have an extra dimension of pathos as Ukraine suffers under unprovoked aggression.  Considered one of the greatest musical works ever composed, the sacred oratorio depicts the…

Read More

A Botched Invasion?

With Churchillian defiance and against all odds, Vladimir Zelensky and the Ukrainian people are defending their families, fatherland and freedom on land, sea and in the air. This is their darkest yet finest hour.  Despite the ruthless destruction of the…

Read More

Why Ukraine Matters

Andrey Zubov is a brave and honest man.  As one of Russia’s leading historians and political scientists, he dared to speak out against the annexation of the Crimea in 2014, comparing Putin’s invasion with Hitler’s Austrian anschluss. He was temporarily…

Read More

Messianic Pretensions

Mr Putin’s messianic pretensions as saviour of Russian civilisation have deep religious and historical roots.  Yet our western secular world tends to filter out religion and pre-Enlightenment history as irrelevant. Hence our surprise at the Hitleresque attack this week, reminiscent…

Read More

More Harm Than Good?

Bans on conversion therapy are being passed feverishly in countries around the world following a United Nations directive against the ‘inherently degrading and discriminatory’ practice. Canada, France, Germany and twenty-eight of the United States of America have passed bans, with…

Read More
Back To Top
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com